Friday, October 24, 2014

Book Review: Reaper's Stand (Reapers MC #4) by Joanna Wylde

Reaper's Stand
Reapers MC #4
By: Joanna Wylde
Published: October 7, 2014
Publisher: Berkley Romance
Source: Publisher 
Mature Content
Add to Goodreads

GR's Summary:

As Reapers Motorcycle Club president, Reese “Picnic” Hayes has given his entire life to the club. After losing his wife, he knew he’d never love another woman. And with two daughters to raise and a club to manage, that was just fine with him. These days, Reese keeps his relationships free and easy—he definitely doesn’t want to waste his time on a glorified cleaning lady like London Armstrong.

Too bad he’s completely obsessed with her.

Besides running her own business, London’s got her junkie cousin’s daughter to look after—a more reckless than average eighteen-year-old. Sure she’s attracted to the Reapers’ president, but she’s not stupid. Reese Hayes is a criminal and a thug. But when her young cousin gets caught up with a ruthless drug cartel, Reese might be the only man who can help her. Now London has to make the hardest decision of her life—how far will she go to save her family?

Reapers MC Series:
My Review on Reaper's Legacy Here
My Review on Devil's Game Here

My Thoughts:

The Reaper's MC by Joanna Wylde is my favorite Motorcycle Club Series.  These MC characters are a bit brusque, rough around the edges, have an air of danger, and an intense sexual vibe about them.  Each male character is unique, and yet they share various similarities.  They are loyal to their club members, who are more like their "brothers," they fight for what they believe in within their own "laws" and ways about doing things, and they love their "old ladies" fiercely and passionately.  In each segment of this series, we have gotten to know about the central male characters and their female counterparts.  Yet, at the same time Ms. Wyle focuses on two main character's story for each addition.  So far, we have gotten Horse & Marie, Rugger and Sophie, and Hunter and Em's stories.  Each of these stories are excellent, and yet it seems like the further along I get in the series, the better each book gets.  

In Reaper's Stand, we get the president of the Reaper's Motorcycle Club, Reese's, also known as Picnic's story.  Reese fell in love young and met his soulmate Heather.  She kept him on his toes, and gave him two beautiful daughter's Em and Kit.  Unfortunately, Heather died from Cancer, and Reese was left as a single father to raise his two girls.  He knew that he would never love another woman again.  No one could ever replace Heather in his eyes.  So throughout the years, as he raised his girls; he didn't do relationships.  Women were used strictly for his pleasure and as a physical relief.  Most of these girls were young enough to be his daughter's.  

Things change when he meets London.  She is beautiful, sexy, and complicated.  London owns her own cleaning business, and works for the Reaper's MC.  She is also attracted to Reese, but he also gives off a scary vibe, and she's heard rumors about the criminal activities in the club.  She doesn't plan on getting involved with the club, other then professionally.  However, when London's niece, Jessica, doesn't come home one night and she finds out that she went to a Reaper's party, London is forced to ask Reese for help in locating Jessica.  This event is the catalyst that brings Reese and London in to each other's lives.  Little do they know that their lives intersect in more than one way, and as danger escalates, the stakes just keep getting higher.

London was the perfect leading lady for Reese!  She was strong, confident, intelligent, and made him work for a relationship with her.  She didn't just bow down to him, the way that every other woman did.  She was also very nurturing, loyal, and protective toward's her niece Jessica (that she had raised as a baby,) and Jess' best friend Mel (who had a dysfunctional home life.  Reese was a sexy alpha male that had cave man qualities!  He decided what he wanted, and didn't take "no" for an answer.  Jessica came off as very immature and selfish, but she had a lot of problem's.  I was glad to see her character growth by the end, and am looking forward to her story.  I loved getting more of Em and Hunter.  Em is one of my favorite leading ladies, and we fat to see her a lot in this segment.  My heart broke for Painter because it was obvious that he still had feelings for Em, but I think she belongs with Hunter, and he belongs with Mel.  I'm very curious about Puck, a new character that we meet in this segment.  It is obvious that he's had a hard life and has his own demons to contend with.  He is a bit of a mystery, and I am really looking forward to his story.  

My Rating:

Reaper's stand was dark, sexy, and very compelling!  It was action-packed, intense, full of plot-twists and excitement.  The attraction and erotic scenes between Reese and London were sizzling hot!!!  I give Reaper's Stand 4.5 Wild Riding, Panty Melting, Picnic Filled Stars!  Fans of Motorcycle Club Stories, Kristen Ashley, and Dark Erotica will love the Reaper's MC Series!!!       

Purchase At:

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Kobo 

About Joanna Wylde:

Joanna Wylde is the author of erotic and mainstream romance novels.

Website | Goodreads | Facebook | Twitter

No comments:

Post a Comment

We love to hear your thoughts, and appreciate you stopping by :)