Monday, October 6, 2014

Book Review: Souls by Ednah Walters


(Grimnirs #2) 

Ednah Walters
Pub September 29th 2014 
by Firetrail Publishing 
ARC for Review 

WARNING: This is CORA'S story: This book may be considered NA (new adult) because it contains some swearing, violence and sex scenes: Suitable for ages 17 and up. A Clean Version will also be available on Amazon.

Eighteen-year-old Cora Jemison knows what it’s like to date a soul reaper. There are no Friday night movies, no school dances, and no stolen kisses between classes. It totally sucks! What makes it even worse, souls pop up when she least expects it. The last one is not her fault, but it all adds up to zero quality time with her super hot, scythe-carrying boyfriend, Echo.

Since Cora was etched with special runes by an evil Immortal, she understands why souls are drawn to her. She makes the best of it by helping souls find closure while Echo escorts them to the realm of the dead. Perfect partners, until a dark soul visits Cora in the dead of the night and Echo decides her soul-helping days are over.

Cora can either listen to Echo or follow her instincts. To make matters worse, other reapers start stalking her, demanding she hand over the soul. Even her Valkyrie friends think she’s gone too far. But something sinister is coming their way, and the soul is the key to saving her town, her friends, and her relationship with Echo. Can she convince Echo to see things her way before it’s too late?

The Dark Souls Are Coming
I’ve come to expect great things from Ms. Walters and let me tell you she does not disapoint. Souls is Grimnirs #2 but if you follow the entire series this takes place after Seeres(Runes #3) which is technically the 4th book making this the 5th book. This is a bit steamier than the Runes books but I like it!

love animated GIF

The Grimnir books can be read separately from the Rune books but no way do I recommend that! There is only one guy hotter than Echo and that’s Torrin! I’m having major swoonisims just thinking about these two!

hand animated GIF

Though this is centered around Cora we get glimpses of what all the other characters are up to. That is always a treat. If you haven’t read these books your missing out. Un-put-a-down-able, Souls picks up full of action and before you know it bam! Its over!! Now I’ll be pacing my living room till the next book comes out.

love animated GIF
Loved It! 

earching, Cora has changed so much from the girl she once was finding her gift and helping others is her new calling.
pportunist, Dev has been running for millennia’s its time to tell the truth and regain the trust he once had among his brothers.
nknowing, Echo will do what it takes to protect Cora he has defied the gods for her. Protecting Cora from dark souls is something Echo takes very seriously he will go as far as to seek the help of people from his past.
ured, dangerous threats from Echo and Cora’s past join forces to exact revenge and retribution. No one will stand by without fighting help comes from all places. Cora and Echo are not alone.
etup, part dream and part nightmare Echo will give Cora a night she will never forget. Confronting the looming danger is the only way to ensure Cora’s safety. Cora’s heart will always belong to Echo their love is more powerful than the God’s wishes and Dark Soul’s desires.

GAH! These two light up the pages! Cora’s personality really shines in this installment her character has done some serious growing. Its been a blast to watch. Echo has changed considerably he lives in a dark cold world and Cora is his light and warmth.

love animated GIF

During the story Cora faces a lot of danger but all the while she is working hard on helping Echo find his way back to those he lost so very long ago. I’d say thats pretty selfless. Meanwhile back at the ranch Echo is frantically searching for a way to eliminate the threat against his beloved. My heart was again all over the place. All of these characters experienced so many tragedies my heart went out to them and I shared their anguish. I’ve got tons and tons of praise for this installment so I absolutely recommend this series!!

My Wish
The Norns provided a little hocus pocus on the students I want to know more details…
love animated GIF

Also, when you know who and Ingrid connect I would LOVE to see more of them!!
Eeeep! This series is soooo good!!!

My Rating
4.5 Volunteering, Possession, Hels Mist, Dev, Dark Souls, Corpse Strand, Teléia, Rhys, Romans, Mr. Cooper, Drew, Sacrifice, Medium Runes, Court Nomination, Flapper Dress, Different Venue, Vortex, Raine, Eirik, Hel’s Hound, Complex all Consuming Love filled Stars!! Another fab addition to a favorite of mine!! Pick these books up I mean it they're amazing!!

Purchase Souls Through
✿ Amazon ✿ B&N ✿ 

Other Books In This Series 
✿ My Review ✿ 
✿ Amazon ✿  

✿ My Review ✿ 
✿ Amazon ✿ 

✿ My Review ✿ 
✿ Amazon ✿ 


✿ My Review ✿ 
✿ Amazon ✿ 

About the Author
EDNAH WALTERS grew up reading Nancy Drew and the Hardy Boys and dreaming of one day writing her own stories. She is a stay-at-home mother of five humans and two American short-hair cats (one of which has ADHD) and a husband. When she is not writing, she’s at the gym doing Zumba or doing things with her family, reading, traveling or online chatting with fans. Ednah is the author of The Guardian Legacy series, a YA fantasy series about children of the fallen angels, who fight demons and protect mankind. AWAKENED, the prequel was released by Pill Hill Press in September 2010 with rave reviews. BETRAYED, book one in the series was released by her new publisher Spencer Hill Press in June 2012 and HUNTED, the third installment, was released March 2013. She’s working on the next book in the series, FORGOTTEN. Ednah also writes YA paranormal romance. RUNES is the first book in her new series. IMMORTALS is book 2. She just released book 3, GRIMNIRS December 2013. Read more about this series and the world she's created on this website. Under the pseudonym E. B. Walters, Ednah writes contemporary romance. SLOW BURN, the first contemporary romance with suspense, was released in April 2011. It is the first book in the Fitzgerald family series. Since then she has published five more books in this series. She's presently working on book seven.   

✿ Website ✿ Blog ✿ Facebook ✿ Twitter ✿

No comments:

Post a Comment

We love to hear your thoughts, and appreciate you stopping by :)