Wednesday, April 2, 2014

Blog Tour: Third Degree by Julie Cross


Third Degree
By: Julie Cross
Publisher: Flirt
Pub:  March 25, 2014
Source: Publisher
Mature Content:  18 & Up
Add to Goodreads

GR's Summary:

Fans of Monica Murphy and Tammara Webber will savor this New Adult novel—a story about coming of age in the heat of the moment—from Julie Cross, the internationally bestselling author of the Tempest trilogy.

I used to be “Isabel Jenkins, child prodigy.” As lame as that sounds, at least it was an identity. But now I’m not sure what I am. I just failed the most important exam of my life—the emotional readiness test required to get into a medical residency program—and it turns out my parents can’t stand each other. Now I’m trying to figure out how to pick up the pieces of my life, and that means re-enrolling as a college freshman, but this time I’m shutting the books and majoring in being eighteen.

But so far, my roommate hates me and I’m not into the party scene. The only good thing about school has been getting to know my insanely hot RA. Marshall Collins makes me wonder about everything I missed while I was growing up too fast. Pretty soon we’re hanging out constantly, but for the first time, I find myself wanting more than a no-strings-attached physical relationship. And the lesson I really need is one Marsh definitely can’t teach me: love. Because I’m going to be alone forever if I don’t learn fast.






Advance praise for Third Degree:

“With quirky characters, laugh-out-loud moments, and a touching romance, Third Degree is a refreshing entry in the New Adult genre. I can’t wait to read what Julie Cross comes up with next!”
—Roni Loren, bestselling author of Need You Tonight

“I fell for quirky, brainy, socially awkward child prodigy Izzy and even more so for her sweet, compassionate, and hot RA, Marshall. I was rooting for their happily-ever-after and was sighing with satisfaction by the end.”
—Christina Lee, author of the Between Breaths series

“Loved! Fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick’s My Life Next Door and Tammara Webber’s Easy will fall hard for this book.”
—Krista Ritchie, co-author of the Addicted to You series


My Thoughts:

Third Degree by Julie Cross was such a great story!  I wouldn't compare it to any other New Adult story that I have read.  It is a completely unique and fresh story in this genre! (Izzy), is a socially inept, 18 year old.  She was in foster care until the age of 5, when she was adopted by her father, a talented and successful surgeon, and her mother, a high school biology teacher.  Izzy was a child prodigy, and at they age of 18, is the youngest resident training to be a surgeon and follow in her father's footsteps.  However, all of Izzy's plans get turned upside down when she fails her emotional readiness examination.  She had planned on attending John Hopkins as a medical resident.  She is told that she can retest in six months, and makes the decision to enroll as a college freshman, so that she can experience the life of a typical student her age.

Izzy's lack of social skills had me blushing and ducking my head in embarrassment from the very beginning of the story.  It also had me laughing hysterically!  She had no verbal filter, completely lacked boundaries, and came off as emotionally stunted.  I felt very sorry for Izzy.  She didn't have any friends, lacked an emotional connection with others, and tended to put her foot in her mouth time and time again, without learning from her mistakes.  Izzy's life changes for the better when she meets her R.A, Marshall (Marsh).  I adored Marsh!  He was such a genuinely sweet, funny, and very nice guy.  Izzy and Marsh share an attraction.  When Marsh see's how Izzy's quirky personality gets her in to trouble, he decides to help her out.  Marsh is the kind of easy going guy that everyone loves and gets along with.  He quickly befriends Izzy, and helps her experience all of the things she missed out on as a prodigy.  In turn, she helps him with his anatomy class.  Feelings between the two of them blossom, and as complications arise, Izzy has to decide what she wants in her life.

I loved the dynamic between Izzy and Marsh.  Izzy went though a large amount of character growth in this story, and the catalyst for her transformation was Marsh.  He was so patient with her, and really loved who she was.  He helped her to adjust in social situations and called her out when she was crossing personal boundaries.  He was a great mediator between Izzy and others, and helped her to get along with others.  These two had a beautiful relationship.  It started off slowly, and developed in to something very real and believable.  Marshall taught Izzy sensitivity, compassion, and how to see her patients as people, and not just a medical chart.  There were certain surprises along the way that made me feel very emotional.  I also loved how each chapter began with medical facts, and how I learned a little bit about various diseases and treatments that were a part of the story.


My Rating:

I give Third Degree, by Julie Cross, 4 Hilarious, Entertaining, Touching, and Very Sweet Stars!  I loved learning new facts, and information from the medical field!  If you are looking for a New Adult Romance with a swoon-worthy, charming, and sexy good guy, and a completely unique plot, lacking the usual cliches, read Third Degree!    



My Favorite Quotes:

"Pretty, and smart enough to commit crimes without leaving any forensic evidence--you're like a lethal weapon.  We should warn all the males on this floor."  (eARC, Loc. 292)

~Marshall

"I'm dying to tell him about the man with no one to call and make sure he knows that no matter what, when he's forty and injured in the ER, he can call me.  He can always call me.  Is this what love is?  (eARC, Loc. 4006)

~Izzy



Purchase At:












About Julie Cross:



Julie Cross lives in Central Illinois with her husband and three children. She’s a former gymnast, longtime gymnastics fan, coach, and former gymnastics program director with the YMCA. She’s a lover of books, devouring several novels a week, especially in the young adult and New Adult genres. She’s also a committed (but not talented) long-distance runner, creator of imaginary beach vacations, Midwest bipolar weather survivor, expired CPR certification card holder, as well as a ponytail and gym shoe addict.




Giveaway:

(1) Flirt Tote Bag and (1) Flirt Coffee Mug
(1) $25.00 Gift Card to the Retailer of you choice


a Rafflecopter giveaway


Brought to You By:


22 comments:

  1. I bought this last week and can't wait to read it! Especially since it's fresh and unique. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was really good! I hope you enjoy it Christy :)

      Delete
  2. I love that this sounds so different from other NA books, so naturally I need to read it because of that. It sounds like I am going to suffer from second hand awkwardness throughout this read though haha. Great review!

    Teresa @ Readers Live A Thousand Lives

    ReplyDelete
  3. Yay for finding a unique story. Izzy, with her social awkwardness sounds great. I'm really glad you enjoyed Third Degree, Lindy. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes, I loved the fact that it was so unique! Thanks Andrea :)

      Delete
  4. I love this cover and it sounds like a great book! =)

    ReplyDelete
  5. OOh sounds good, thanks for the giveaway too!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was great! Good luck with the giveaway :)

      Delete
  6. I'm so glad you enjoyed THIRD DEGREE Lindy! :)

    ReplyDelete
  7. This does sound different and I love awkward and embarrassing moments! Wonderful review Lindy, adding to my list!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Right? I was dying a few times with her social skill issues! The late night "collection" with Will? OMG! Great review. Mine posts tomorrow.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. LOL! I know!!! I couldn't stop laughing, to the pint where every time I'd finally calm down, I'd start laughing all over again! I can't wait to read your review on it :)

      Delete
  9. I've read Julie's Letters to Nowhere eBook series, and her youthful characters are very lifelike. Just as in Third Degree (which I'm reading now), her protagonist in LtN was a protigy. A terrible emotional shock enters her life, and her foundation crumbles, partly because she spent so much time on her work that she was emotionally immature and socially behind her age group. After reading LtN, I immediately purchased its sequels and grabbed a paperback for my niece. Julie Cross truly writes for all ages and genders, and she's so friendly! Here is my review of Letters to Nowhere (and I'm a Top Amazon Reviewer): http://www.amazon.com/review/RFGVPLMA687O1/?_encoding=UTF8&camp=213733&creative=393193&linkCode=shr&tag=ferrathear-20

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes, I agree they are very lifelike! Thanks for stopping by Lori :)

      Delete
  10. Main character with " lack of social skills" I wanna meet her! I also liked that it was fresh and unique! It's hard to really find books that bring that element in. I definitely wanna meet these characters! Great review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Magen! I really enjoyed this one!

      Delete
  11. HAHAHHA! Izzy's lack of a filter made me DIE. That one scene... in the dorm room and the roommate's bed partner. I was cringing/blushing/cackling at that! I really loved Marsh. He was my favorite. And my heart just hurt for him over his situation! I can't even imagine! I'm so glad you liked this one Lindy!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Lol!!! I know!!! That scene had me laughing nonstop!!!! It was hilarious! Marsh was such a sweetheart, and my heart hurt for everything he went through.

      Delete

We love to hear your thoughts, and appreciate you stopping by :)