Thursday, July 2, 2015

Book Review: Hard to Let Go (Hard Ink #4) by Laura Kaye

Hard to Let Go
Hard Ink #4

Laura Kaye

Release Date:
June 30, 2015

Avon Books

eARC from publisher for a honest review

Add to 

GR's Summary:

Five dishonored soldiers. 
Former Special Forces. 
One last mission. 
These are the men of Hard Ink. 

Beckett Murda hates to dwell on the past. But his investigation into the ambush that killed half his Special Forces team and ended his Army career gives him little choice. Just when his team learns how powerful their enemies are, hard-ass Beckett encounters the biggest complication yet—seductive, feisty Katherine Rixey. 

A tough, stubborn prosecutor, Kat visits her brothers’ Hard Ink Tattoo following a bad break-up—and finds herself staring down the barrel of a stranger’s gun. Beckett is hard-bodied and sexy as hell, but he’s also the most infuriating man ever. Worse, Kat’s brothers are at war with criminals her office is investigating. When Kat joins the fight, she lands straight in Beckett’s sights—and his arms. Not to mention their enemies’ crosshairs. 

Now Beckett and Kat must set aside their differences to work together, because the only thing sweeter than justice is finding love and never letting go

Hard Ink Series:
Add this Series to Goodreads Here

My Thoughts:

Hard to Let Go was a spectacular story!  My only advice to readers would be to read this story in sequential order.  I came in to this book feeling a little lost and confused, but eventually caught on.  There are a lot of characters, as well as a complex plot.

Nick Rixey, Derek "Marz" DiMarzio, Shane McCallan, Edward "Easy" Canrell, and Beckett Murda, were dishonorably discharged from the Special Forces. While they were in Afghanistan, an ambush killed their commander, and six other members of their team.   After they barely made it out alive, they were charged with dereliction of duty and forced to sign nondisclosure agreements.  These men end up banding together to  clear their names, and end up learning about a sinister and complex conspiracy in the process.

Each story in this series focuses on a different team member of the special forces (except for Hard to Be Good, which is Jeremy (Nick's younger brother's story), a love match, and the unraveling of the conspiracy.  In Hard to Let Go, we get Beckett Murda, and Katherine "Kat" Rixey's story.  Kat is Nick and Jeremy's younger sister.  She leaves her home to seek refuge with her brothers (from an ex-stalker boyfriend,) and ends up with more than she bargained for, as she is thrust in the middle of danger and their ongoing investigation. While living with her brothers, their significant others, and the rest of the dishonored soldiers, she gets to know Beckett.  These two run hot and cold with one another.  They bicker, but share a sizzling attraction.  Beckett's never cared enough about a woman to want a relationship.  Will Kat be the one that changes his mind?

Hard to Let Go was told from the dual perspectives of Kat and Beckett.  This made me feel close to these characters, understand them, and made me connect with them on a deeper level.  Kat was a strong, independent, and fierce leading lady!  She was loyal and loving to her brothers, Nick, and Jeremy, and wanted to help them in any way that she could. Yet, she also had a soft and vulnerable side to her.  Needless to say, I loved Kat's character.  Beckett was wonderful as well.  He carried wounds from emotional aand physical abuse that he was forced to endure as a child.  He was numb inside, had trouble with feeling, and did't understand what love was or feel worthy of it.  Kat helped heal him, as did the love and loyalty that he got from his peers.  Their connection was emotional, and their chemistry combustible!

The plot of the story was very fast-paced.  This book was pretty lengthy, but there was never a dull moment.  It was full of surprises, revelations, crazy plot twists, action, suspense, romance, humor, and friendship.  Even though I now know how everything ended, I am going back to read the previous books in the series.  That's how fantastic the characters, romance, and plot were.  

My Rating:

The secondary characters added a lot of depth and entertainment to the story as well.  My favorite's were Marz, due to how caring and compassionate he was, as well as Jeremy, who added humor to the story.  Fans of Passionate and Addicting Romantic Suspense, need to pick up this series!  I give, Hard to Let Go, by Laura Kaye, 4 Sizzling Sexiness, Dangerous Conspiracy, Action Packed Suspense, Special Friendships Filled Stars!    

Book Teasers:

Purchase At:

About Laura Kaye:

Laura is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of over twenty books in contemporary and paranormal romance and romantic suspense. Growing up, Laura’s large extended family believed in the supernatural, and family lore involving angels, ghosts, and evil-eye curses cemented in Laura a life-long fascination with storytelling and all things paranormal. She lives in Maryland with her husband, two daughters, and cute-but-bad dog, and appreciates her view of the Chesapeake Bay every day.

Website | GoodreadsFacebook | Twitter 

Newsletter SignUp


  1. This one is news to me, I like how you share romance books that I usually have not heard of :) I love strong, and independent heroines in books - those ones I would probably relate to more, thank you for the wonderful review Lindy :) <3 Benish | Feminist Reflections

    1. I'm glad that I could help you discover new books! I love strong heroines too :) Thanks for stopping by Benish!

  2. I have been seeing this series around. I hate that they were dishonorably discharged. Hopefully, they will clear their names. It sounds like Kat is a gal who stands up for who and what she believes in.

    1. Yeah, I felt frustrated by the injustice done to them also! Kat was pretty awesome :)

  3. I appreciate the advise to read this series in order because I was considering reading it out of order. Sounds like a good one to just binge read.

    1. Yes, read them in order :) Thanks for stopping by!


We love to hear your thoughts, and appreciate you stopping by :)