Friday, June 20, 2014

Dark Metropolis (Dark Metropolis #1) by Jaclyn Dolamore



Dark Metropolis 

(Dark Metropolis #1) 
by 
Jaclyn Dolamore 
Pub June 17th 2014 
by Disney-Hyperion 
ARC For Review 


Summary
Cabaret meets Cassandra Clare-a haunting magical thriller set in a riveting 1930s-esque world.

Sixteen-year-old Thea Holder's mother is cursed with a spell that's driving her mad, and whenever they touch, Thea is chilled by the magic, too. With no one else to contribute, Thea must make a living for both of them in a sinister city, where danger lurks and greed rules. Thea spends her nights waitressing at the decadent Telephone Club attending to the glitzy clientele. But when her best friend, Nan, vanishes, Thea is compelled to find her. She meets Freddy, a young, magnetic patron at the club, and he agrees to help her uncover the city's secrets-even while he hides secrets of his own.

Together, they find a whole new side of the city. Unrest is brewing behind closed doors as whispers of a gruesome magic spread. And if they're not careful, the heartless masterminds behind the growing disappearances will be after them, too.

Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, this is a chilling thriller with a touch of magic where the dead don't always seem to stay that way.









The Way I See It 

Dark Metropolis was a book that I really really wanted to pick up. I’m not disappointed but I found it somewhat lacking. The story was good but the synopsis led me astray I was hoping for a jazzy feel but I got zombies instead. I thought Thea was supposed to be the main character but I felt as though the story was more centralized around Nan. I loved Nan’s character but there was a weird moment that threw me totally off mostly because I wasn’t expecting it. There was magic but it wasn’t really explained and the bad guys were bad but we didn’t really understand the why. There was talk of a dangerous chancellor and war but there really wasn’t a whole lot of explanation or back story. There were some really interesting magical aspects that drew me in and kept me wanting more. 

I’m going to be honest when I say I’m on the fence with the next book I will have to definitely keep an eye out because I love the magical angle and I want to find out more about Freddy. He is the person who contains magic and is being used by the bad guys to do their bidding. It was nice to see him regain control of his life. The end answered several questions and we get to see the bond these young characters create with each other. I’m not entirely sold on the relationships formed everything seemed really sudden to me but I’m looking forward to seeing where this story goes. 

My Questions
Who is the Chancellor, will the revolution bring war, where are all of the magic bearers, is Thea really just some random girl, What’s going to happen w/ Nan…So many questions… 

My Rating
3.0 Telephone Club, Silver Hair, Bound Sickness, Missing Friend, Revolutionary Meeting, Pulling Levers, Never Dying, Dark Tunnels, Cutting Threads, Sun Rise, Mothers Sacrifice, Rendezvous, Fierce battle to come filled stars. If you enjoy mysterious young adult reads with a dash of undead this read is for you.









Purchase Through
Amazon | B&N













3 comments:

  1. Ah, I'm torn. Thanks for reviewing, but I may pass on this.

    ReplyDelete
  2. This book, when I first heard about it, was my most anticipated read. It took forever before I had the chance to read it, and by that time my anticipation had been sullied because of all of the reviews. The main reason being that the synopsis leads you to believe the story is about one thing, which it is about, but much more than. I know I am not making the least bit of sense. I think I might still read this one day, but I am not in nearly as much of a hurry as I was initially!

    ReplyDelete

We love to hear your thoughts, and appreciate you stopping by :)