Thursday, February 18, 2016

Book Review: Dark Devotion (Dark #3) by Lauren Dawes

Dark Devotion 

(Dark #3) 
Lauren Dawes 
Expected publication: February 25th 2016 
by Momentum 
ARC for Review 

The time of Odin is over. The Aesir gods now live among the humans in their bustling modern cities. Their brutal dominion over the other gods and their eradication of the entire dark elf race may have ended, but their actions have not been forgotten.

Beneath Rhys's skin lies a legendary and feared beast. Rhys is tormented by his daily struggle to contain the ruthless, cold-blooded creature sharing his body. But when his best friend Galen disappears, Rhys's careful restraint and self-control are finally broken. Fueled with a desire to find Galen, Rhys strikes an unlikely alliance with the only god who knows the truth about his dark past.

Taer has found her revenge, yet she's still not happy. There's something missing from her life, but still she fights what her heart is telling her. It's only when the incredibly infuriating and dangerously sexy Aubrey goes missing that she can admit her true feelings for him. Taer's racing against time to rescue Aubrey, but when will she finally allow him into her heart?

Perfect for fans of Gina Showalter and Patricia Briggs.

 photo widget_logo_zpsb4b8b531.gif

Justice is Served 

This is always a bitter sweet moment for me…the closing of a trilogy that I have followed for years. I always develop a type of connection slash bond with these characters and though I want their happiness it’s always a bit sad to know this is the last I will read of them. I have been following this series since the beginning and have loved it! The idea of Norse mythology in a read is absolutely delightful. Dark Devotion does not disappoint and Mrs. Dawes makes this a gripping read. From the first scene to the last get ready to hang on the edge of your seat. I look forward to seeing what she has in store for us in the future as it stands she is a wonderful paranormal author that I will be following closely.

The Story,
the first scene in this installment is a glimpse into the past and it illustrates some of the horrors that Loki reveled in. Throughout this installment we are transported to the past and the why is not explained until the end but once its revealed it is very compelling. Loki is after Odin but to get to him he must go through Bryn and he will stop at nothing to see his brother dead. Odin is in a delicate situation because he has recently lost so much and yet is so alone however if he gives up Bryn will also perish and he cannot let that happen. After having received a glimpse of what could be Odin will pursue the one person who can finally destroy Loki. His only weakness will be exposed and the crimes committed in the past will be recompensed.

The Characters,
everyone is back this installment. Dark Devotion follows Rhys, Mav, Taer & Aubrey and the way Loki and Odin have wreaked havoc on the Valkeries lives in the past. Along with them we revisit with Bryn and Korvain these two are my absolute favorite characters of the whole series and ultimately everything is centered around them. One of my wishes comes to fruition with Aubrey and Taer finding each other. I don’t want to give away key plot points so I won’t go into detail but know that these two go through heck and back for each other and the end result is beautiful! Bryn is an absolute star who does something she has wanted to do for a very long time. In the past she was lacking the courage but she finds the strength from the love of everyone around her.

The End,
as I mentioned in the beginning this final installment is a brutal all debts paid in full read. From the so many wrongs of the past both Gods and humans will pay for their actions from good to bad. As the momentum built the reader is transfixed with the what will happen next. Towards the end there is an opening that could result in another book. Do I see it happening probably not because at the very end the reader receives full closure with all the story lines. This wasn’t a happy ending with pink bows because lives are lost and tons of blood is shed but it is a rest easy there is finally peace in our lives kind of an end. No lie I typically am a pink bow happy ending kinda gal but Dawes does an excellent job of expressing the beauty of peace through pain so I totally dig this ending. Bravo I’m looking forward to seeing what is in store for her fans and readers.

My Rating
4.5 Light Elf, Wolf, Tavern, Brothel, Blood, Restraints, Deaths, Thor, Blood Message, Grandson, Little Fighter, Clan Decision, Wedding Day, Servant, Valhalla, Sword, Betrayal, Drugs, Hand, Ripped, Slain, Fire, Lightning, Vanishing, A Simplified Yet Amplified Love Through Peace Full Stars!

Purchase Through


About The Author

Born in South Africa and raised in Sydney, Lauren Dawes is an urban fantasy/paranormal romance writer and the author of the Dark Series.

In 2009, she quit her full-time job teaching English as a Second Language to finally begin writing “that book”, letting her over-active imagination pour out onto the digital pages, much to everyone’s horror. The catch phrase “I didn’t know you had such a dark imagination” only fueled her to write more, where her love for Norse mythology and gods finally got the spotlight.

She currently lives with her husband and daughter in whatever city they happen to be posted to, and her cat, Oscar, who has inspired more than one character quirk or scene in her books.

To find out more, visit

No comments:

Post a Comment

We love to hear your thoughts, and appreciate you stopping by :)