Monday, June 8, 2015

Book Review: A Pound of Flesh (A Pound of Flesh #1) by Sophie Jackson

A Pound of Flesh

A Pound of Flesh #1


Sophie Jackson

Release Date:

June 9, 2015


Gallery Books

Add to Goodreads


eARC from publisher for a honest review

GR's Summary:

Lose your heart to your new bad boy book boyfriend. Wes Carter - sexy, edgy, behind bars, with emotional scars as permanent as the ink on his skin, just waiting to be healed by love... 

Fans of Samantha Young, Jodi Ellen Malpas, Jamie McGuire, Katy Evans and Prison Break will find this powerful love story utterly addictive and unforgettable. 

Their love is forbidden. But won't be denied... Can true love heal the deepest scars? 

For Kat Lane, teaching inmates at a New York prison is her way of upholding the legacy of her beloved father, murdered fifteen years ago. But when new student Wes Carter walks into her classroom, she's shaken by the strength of her attraction to him. Carter is as handsome as he is dangerous, as mysterious as he is quick-witted - and he ensures people keep their distance. Yet vibrant Kat bypasses his defences and challenges him to reveal the real man behind the intimidating reputation. As their emotional barriers crumble, their inescapable but forbidden feelings cannot be ignored. But will Kat's discovery of Carter's role on the night her father died force them apart...or bind their hearts for ever? 

A Pound of Flesh is a tale of loyalty, redemption and all-consuming love against the odds, introducing an irresistible bad boy hero...

A Pound of Flesh Series:
Add this Series to Goodreads Here

My Thoughts:

A Pound of Flesh was an intriguing and compelling read.  The first thing I noticed about this story was the title.  Right away, I wondered if, A Pound of Flesh, had a connection to the plot in, The Merchant of Venice by William Shakespeare.  Sure enough, paying one's debt was an important theme that held weight in this story.  There were a lot of references made to various pieces of literature throughout the story, that I enjoyed learning about.  This was a story with substance and depth.  

Ms. Jackson hooked me with the suspenseful and dark beginning of the story.  We learn of a traumatic experience that occurred and the way it connects to the present time.  Kat Lane lost her father at a young age, and she made a promise to him before he died; she would give back to the community.  Therefore, Kate has taken a job teaching Literature at the Arthur Kill Correctional Facility.  

While teaching, Kat meets Wes "Carter," an inmate and one of her new students.  At first, Kat and Carter don't get along and have a tense and antagonistic relationship.  However, Kat wins Carter over with her beauty, intelligence, fiery passion, and huge heat.  Kat is attracted to Carter's masculinity, wit, and learning that there is a hidden depth to him.  Feelings of attraction, sizzling chemistry, and genuine caring grow between Kat and Carter.  However, there is a strict non-fraternization policy in Kat's teaching contract, and entering a relationship could cost Kat her career.  

I love stories about forbidden romance, and this one completely pulled me in.  Kat and Carter were fleshed out characters full of depth, many layers, and secrets.  The plot was suspenseful, romantic, heartwarming, and passionate.  My only critique of the story would be that it was a bit too long.  I thought it was excellent, but by the end, I was ready for it to end, because it dragged on.  

Fans of Hard Time by Cara McKenna, should check out this story.  They both have similar themes, are fantastic, yet very different stories.  The second story in the series, Love and Always, is the continuation of Kat and Carter's story.  I'm looking forward to seeing how everything plays out between these two characters!     

My Rating:

I give, A Pound of Flesh, by Sophie Jackson, 4 Gripping, Suspenseful, Tender, Romantic, Feverish-Passion Filled Stars!  

Book Teaser:

Purchase At:

Amazon | B&N | iBooks | IndieBound 

About Sophie Jackson:

Sophie is an English teacher from Chorley in North West England. As a child she read and wrote furiously, and continued to scratch that creative itch as an adult when, in 2008, she began contributing to the web’s leading fan fiction site after reading the Twilight series. Sophie wrote and posted a number of stories, chapter by chapter, and built up an impressive following. Now, after 4.5 million reads online, A Pound of Flesh is available in print for the first time.


  1. I've heard of this one before, but I haven't gotten a chance to read it yet. The cover is very catchy & unique looking though, I think it's one of the first's I've seen. The forbidden aspect is soo intruding, most of my favorites novels have that lol. Thank you for the awesome recommendation though :) Benish | Feminist Reflections

  2. This sounds like a good read Lindy! I love it when characters get together after not liking one another to begin with!

    Naomi @ Naomi’s Reading Palace

  3. Prison romances are definitely forbidden ones and I've liked a few, but that bit about him being involved in her dad's death would definitely put a serious cramp in it.

    1. Sophia, it's not what your thinking. He's a really good guy ;)

  4. Oh my when I read the title I thought of Shakespeare too! Nice review!

  5. Lindy, I love the substance and depth in Pound of Flesh. The literary references is an added bonus. This wasn't even on my radar so thank you.

  6. This sounds like a fantastic read!!! Thanks for the chance!

  7. Do you think knowing those references to classic literature made your experience reading this one better? Do you think that not having read the references would cause the reader to enjoy it less? Just curious.

    1. Yes, I think knowing some of those references to literature made my reading experience more exciting and enriching. It was an added bonus. However, without those references, this still would have been a great story!

  8. Enjoyed your review for this book & I'm adding it to my summer TBRs. Thank you!


We love to hear your thoughts, and appreciate you stopping by :)