Monday, January 30, 2017

Book Review : Lila (Boyle Heights, #1) by Elizabeth Reyes @AuthorElizabeth

Boyle Heights, #1
by Elizabeth Reyes

Release Date:
January 25th, 2017

Contemporary Romance

Cover Designed by:
Amanda Simpson of
Pixel Mischief Design

Add to Goodreads


eARC received in exchange of honest review


When two unlikely paths cross . . . compatibility seems improbable.  

Adrift in a foul-mouthed world of ass kicking to survive life on the tough streets of Boyle Heights, Lila is anything but a refined girlie girl. Fighting tooth and nail for those she loves has left her with a chip on her shoulder as big as the gloves on her fists.   

After years of being surrounded by glamorous glitzy women, Sonny didn't even realize how much he's yearned for someone of real substance. So, when he meets the unapologetic, sexy-as-hell Lila, her in-your-face candor awakens something in him he's never felt before.  

Despite Lila's suspicions about Sonny's intentions, the two begin a seemingly innocent, yet deliciously dangerous, online flirtation as his business keeps him away a lot.  

The more their rapidly growing connection intensifies, the more Lila feels Sonny is too perfect to be true. But when she's blindsided by the truth about who Sonny really is . . . 

Compatibility suddenly feels impossible.  

Purchase Links:
Amazon US | Amazon UK | B&N
iBooks | Kobo | Smashwords

Lindy's Thoughts:

I have been so excited to begin the Boyle Heights Series.  I got to read a teaser at the end of a previous book by Elizabeth Reyes.  The teaser reeled me in and hooked me, which left me dying for more! I have had the pleasure of reading every single book Ms. Reyes has written, and there have been a lot!  Her stories never fail to make me obsess.  I obsess over the characters, their friends, families, and acquaintances, and the challenges and hardships they each uniquely face. 

The biggest reason being that Ms. Reyes weaves her writing spell on me, leaving me caring about her characters, relating to them in different ways, and feeling like I am a part of their group.  In the 5th Street Series, I felt like I was a part of their elite boxing club, and best friends with all of the boxers and their wives.   In the Moreno and Fate books, I felt like I was part of the Moreno clan and their tight-knit group of friends.     Reading a book by Ms. Reyes is the difference between reading a book you love, but being an outside observer of the characters and plot, versus the characters taking on a life of their own, and feeling like you are a part of their world.  It takes a rare and gifted writer to be able to accomplish this!

Lila is the first book in the Boyle Heights Series.  It is a spin-off of the 5th Street Series.  You don't have to have read 5th Street to follow along with Lila's story.  Ms. Reyes uses some of the 5th Street characters as acquaintances and new friends to the Boyle Heights characters.  Also,  the 5th street gym is one of the settings where various scenes from the story take place.

Lila and her younger sister, Allison grew up in the foster care system.  Being the older sister, Lila has always been very protective, and felt responsible for Ali.  Unfortunately, her quick temper has gotten her in to hot water quite a few times.    Lila is working at 5th street as an assistant youth trainer.  She shares an apartment in the Boyle Heights projects with her good friend Stacia, and Ali.  Finances are tough though, as she pays for all of her and Ali's living expenses, her sister's college tuition, and shares her car with Ali.  The most important thing in Lila's life is Ali.  

So, when Gio, an elite boxer from 5th Street, offers her a chance at professional woman's boxing, with the possibility of becoming a fitness model, (her dream career,) she takes it.  Lila has reservations about boxing, because her mother died in the ring, but she wants to give Ali a better life, and Gio assures her that she's too fast and talented to get seriously injured.

When Lila and Stacia attend a music concert, she meets a gorgeous, charming, and sweet guy.  Even though she's sworn off relationships for quite a while, "Sonny" tempts her and makes her feel more than she ever thought possible.   Unfortunately, Sonny is not being completely forthright about his identity.  He likes Lila immensely, but doesn't want to tell her who he is, until he trusts her completely.  He wants to make sure she likes him for himself, and not for any superficial or opportunistic reason.

Lila and Sonny's story was a page-turner!  It was passionate, exciting, unpredictable, and had just the right amount of suspense.  Lila and Sonny's characters were both very endearing, while at the same time realistic.  I could relate to Lila's role as protective older sister.  Her short temper made her interesting, and so real.  I also loved her independence, determination, inner-strength, and hard work ethic.  I loved the way that Sonny brought out a softer, more vulnerable and feminine side to her as well.  

Sonny was more even tempered, but when it came to Lila he could be very jealous.  He was such a gentleman with her, and took their romance at the pace that she needed.  Sonny was a real charmer.  His charisma, and sex appeal oozed right off the pages.  He made my heart pitter-patter, and the butterflies in my stomach dance!      


Lila was an excellent start to the Boyle Heights Series.  We learn enough about Lila's younger sister, Ali, to be highly invested in her character as well.  Ali's story will be the second book in the Boyle Heights Series, and I am very excited to learn more about the seemingly meek and passive Ali, as she has now shown us that she is very spirited, and has a lot of Lila's traits in her!  I give, Lila, by Elizabeth Reyes, 5 Magnetic, Passionate, Pulse-Pounding, Romantic Stars!  Fans of Ms. Reyes 5th Street and Moreno/Fate books will be very happy with her new series!!!

Mikki's Review:

A new series by Elizabeth Reyes? Yes, please!! 

I have been waiting for Lila to be released since the moment the author announced that she was writing a new series.  My favorite series from Elizabeth Reyes is her 5th Street Series. Passionate and protective alpha males boxers fall hard for fun, confident and lovable heroines. I have been missing them since I turned the last page of Felix's book and I was happy dancing when I learned that their world would collide with the Boyle Heights Series.

This first installment features a female boxer and I am so happy with the way Elizabeth Reyes wrote Lila's characters. She's a fierce heroine who makes her presence felt wherever she goes. You don't want to mess with her or any person that is dear to her heart. Her intensity is remarkable and I was cheering for her from the beginning of the story. 

The hero, Sonny, brought a smile to my face. OMG!! Major swoon feast happening in this book!! Not only do my papasotes from 5th Street bless us with their presence, we even get to fall in love and swoon over Sonny. I loved the way he was mesmerized with Lila. She's a breath of fresh air in his life and I could feel how hard he fell for her. Like any other couple, Lila and Sonny had some obstacles to overcome. It broke my heart when that ''All hell is going to break loose'' moment arrived. OMG!! I wanted to hide under a table. When Lila gets furious?!?! Ay mama!! Get out of the way!!!

Lila and Sonny's chemistry was instant and it kept on growing with each scene that they shared. Their love story was passionate, hot, intense and a roller coaster ride of emotions. I read this book in one sitting because I simply could not put it down! Elizabeth Reyes always creates the best reading escape for her readers. Her characters are incredibly addictive and she always leaves you wanting more! Her writing style will captivate you from the first page to the last! 

I love how this author always intertwines her series. This story was packed with secrets and twists that I did not expect. The biggest of all coming at the end of the book. That ending left me at the edge of my seat!! I absolutely cannot wait to find out what will happen with the characters that were introduced in Lila's story. My bookworm heart is happy and I am irrevocably in love with this new series. If you have not read anything by Elizabeth Reyes, you are seriously missing out! 


I give, Lila, by Elizabeth Reyes, 5 amazing, page-turning, steamy, passionate stars!

About the Author:

"I write because I must. It’s not a choice or a pastime, it’s an unyielding calling and my passion.

USA Today Bestselling Author, Elizabeth Reyes continues to answer to her calling on a daily basis. Since releasing her debut novel Forever Mine (Moreno Brothers #1) in 2010 she has now published 24 full length novels total and fast at work on the next. The excitement her Moreno Brothers, 5th Street, and Fate series have garnered has far exceeded her wildest dreams. It is with as much excitement that she'll continue to put out books related to these series as well as introduce brand new ones very soon. 

Stay tuned for more exciting news about what's in store for 2017! 

No comments:

Post a Comment

We love to hear your thoughts, and appreciate you stopping by :)